The Anglican church is governed by its synods, which comprise of lay and clergy members. In the UK, the highest level is the General Synod. Members of General Synod are elected by the Deanery synods, of which Wotton Deanery is one. Diocesan Synod members are also elected by the Deanery synods. The members of Wotton Deanery Synod are elected by each of the parishes in the Deanery.


Wotton Deanery Synod is chaired jointly by the Area Dean (Revd Canon David Russell; Wickwar) and the Lay Chair (currently Carole O’Donnell; Lower Cam and Coaley). There is an assistant Area Dean, Revd. Canon Michael Cozens, a Secretary (Position currently vacant), a Treasurer (currently David Thomas) and a Parish Share Apportionment Officer (also David Thomas).

Revd. Canon David Russell, Area Dean

Wotton Deanery was created in 2009 and covers the area from the Severn to the Badminton area and from Chipping Sodbury to Sharpness and Slimbridge.
Wotton Deanery has a Standing Committee that works to prepare for Synod meetings and ensure that Synod is running effectively.
There is also a Deanery Mission and Pastoral Group (DMPG) to steer the Deanery’s work on mission and the future shape of the Deanery. This group meets when appropriate.

Roles and Activities of Deanery Synod

Wotton Deanery Synod both discusses its own matters of interest, may consider matters raised by the Diocese, and may also want to put matters forward to the Diocese, so it is a two-way communication. However, most time is spent discussing activities and issues of interest within the Deanery. During this triennium we will be focussing on L.I.F.E our new diocesan vision, as well as having a variety of speakers to come and share with us.

International Links

The Diocese of Gloucester has links are with Karnataka Central (near Bangalore, India), Dornakal (Andhra Pradesh, India), El Camino Real (California, USA), and Western Tanganyika (Tanzania).

Benefices in the Deanery

  • Badminton et al
  • Sharpness & Slimbridge et al
  • Berkeley et al
  • Sodbury Vale
  • CRoFTT (Cromhall with Rockhampton, Falfield, Tortworth & Tytherington)
  • Thornbury & Oldbury
  • Cam & Stinchcombe
  • Tyndale (Wotton et al)
  • Dursley, Uley et al
  • Lower Cam & Coaley
  • Wickwar et al